The Beginning.

This is the very first entry of my new blog site, and I commence it with not a little trepidation. However, this is one way that I can fulfil my vocation as a public Christian witness and as someone who is able to engage with current ideas and prevailing issues. By that, I mean offering a Christian perspective in the public square and being a disciple who is able to bring every arena of life – both private and public (though the distinction between those two realms is often blurred) – under the lordship of Christ and the wisdom of Scripture. It’s a challenging ask, but I do remember someone saying that we are the salt of the earth and the light of the world. (Now, if only I could recall who that was…)

In any case, here are my thoughts on a range of topics theological, cultural, political, ethical, and so on. The exact remit of this blog is quite expansive, so it may be difficult to discern any kind of coherent theme. But if it is true that every area of life ought to be shaped by the wisdom of God, then it seems to me that his wisdom generally, and Scripture in particular, can speak to the issues that confront us all. So, with that in mind, I present my take on today’s world, seen through the lens of the biblical witness.

One comment

  1. Hi Scott, I’m a friend of Rachel’s. Welcome to the blogosphere! I like to think of blogging as ‘thinking out loud’, with the presence of an audience hopefully helping to deepen reflection (!).

Leave a Reply

